Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Daniel Harding conducts Mahler and Schumann — With Christian Gerhaher Bamberg Symphony

Bamberg Symphony

Daniel Harding conducts Mahler and Schumann — With Christian Gerhaher Bamberg Symphony


Famed German baritone Christian Gerhaher brings his renowned talents to the top-notch Bamberg Symphony, under the expert direction of Daniel Harding, in this live event from Bamberg! Conductor and soloist, both celebrated for their interpretations of the music of Gustav Mahler, relish the opportunity to perform the great Austrian's work: first up is Blumine, a lovely Andante that served as the original second movement of the First Symphony before revisions. Gerhaher then shines in the sublime Rückert-Lieder—a setting of Friedrich Rückert’s poetry that weaves words and music into a rich tapestry of melody, timbre and rhythm—and in "Urlicht" ("Primal Light"), extracted from the beloved Des Knaben Wunderhorn. The evening closes out with a breathtaking performance of Schumann’s Symphony No. 2, a mysterious masterpiece written during a long period of depression that nevertheless brims with a sense of triumph, especially in the moving Allegro that concludes the symphony.

Photo: Daniel Harding © Julian Hargreaves, Christian Gerhaher © Alexander Basta

Christian Gerhaher appears courtesy of Sony Classical.

Associated event


  • Christian Gerhaher | Baritone


  • Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 1 in D Major, "Titan"
    • Blumine
  • Gustav Mahler, Rückert-Lieder
    • Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder (Do not look into my songs)
    • Ich atmet' einen linden Duft (I breathed a gentle fragrance)
    • Um Mitternacht (At midnight)
    • Liebst du um Schönheit (If you love for beauty)
    • Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen (I am lost to the world)
  • Gustav Mahler, Des Knaben Wunderhorn (The Boy’s Magic Horn)
    • Urlicht (Primeval Light)
  • Robert Schumann, Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61
    • 1. Allegro ma non troppo
    • 2. Scherzo - Allegro Vivace
    • 3. Adagio espressivo
    • 4. Allegro molto vivace


  • Directed by:
    • Marc Pasteau
  • Venue: Bamberg Konzerthalle (Bamberg)
  • Production date: 2021
  • Production: © Bamberg Symphony & medici.tv
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

You might also like