Claudio Abbado conducts Bach's Brandenburg Concertos

Orchestra Mozart

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Victor Aviat — Oboist

Lucas Macías Navarro — Oboist

Guido Gualandi — Oboist

Giuliano Carmignola — Violino piccolo

Giuliano Carmignola — Violinist

Raphael Christ — Violinist

Lorenza Borrani — Violinist

Danusha Waskiewicz — Violist

Simone Jandl — Violist

Behrang Rassekhi — Violist

Mario Brunello — Cellist

Enrico Bronzi — Cellist

Benoît Grenet — Cellist

Jacques Zoon — Flutist

Giuliano Carmignola — Violinist

Ottavio Dantone — Harpsichordist

Program notes

Now considered to be among the finest examples of Baroque orchestration, the Brandenburg Concertos were nearly lost forever. Their 1721 dedicatee, Christian Ludwig of Brandenburg, likely did not have sufficient numbers to perform Bach’s remarkably innovative score, which sat unused and forgotten until music theorist Siegfried Dehn rediscovered it in the archives over a century later. How fortunate Dehn’s find was, for without it we may never have heard these marvels of texture and virtuosity, unprecedented in the variety of solo combinations and the originality of ideas.

In this 2007 film, experience all six of the Baroque gems with a world-class chamber orchestra under the leadership of one of the greatest conductors of all time: the inimitable Claudio Abbado and the Orchestra Mozart make this a Brandenburg for the ages, stately and spirited and impeccably rendered.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info