Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

concert Christoph Prégardien sings Schubert, "Die schöne Müllerin" Michael Gees (piano)

Michael Gees (piano)

Christoph Prégardien sings Schubert, "Die schöne Müllerin" Michael Gees (piano)


The German tenor Christoph Prégardien at his best in the most fragile of Schubert's works, "Die schöne Müllerin."

As in Winterreise, Die schöne Müllerin is part of a cycle of twenty Lieder composed by Schubert on poems by Wilhelm Müller; it is a rite of passage for all singers specialising in this unique art. Initiated by the great Hartmut Höll, German tenor Christoph Prégardien has performed this emblematic Romantic piece hundreds of times. He recorded it with pianist Andreas Staier, but this time live in 2008 at Stuttgart, with Michael Gees accompanying him in the Schubertian gesture: a miller's boy is rebuffed by his master's daughter, "the lovely maid of the mill" who prefers a hunter to him.

Read more



  • Franz Schubert, Die schöne Müllerin, D. 795
    • 1. Das Wandern
    • 2. Wohin?
    • 3. Halt!
    • 4. Danksagung an den Bach
    • 5. Am Feierabend
    • 6. Der Neugierige
    • 7. Ungeduld
    • 8. Morgengruß
    • 9. Des Müllers Blumen
    • 10. Tränenregen
    • 11. Mein!
    • 12. Pause
    • 13. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande
    • 14. Der Jäger
    • 15. Eifersucht und Stolz
    • 16. Die liebe Farbe
    • 17. Die böse Farbe
    • 18. Trockne Blumen
    • 19. Der Müller und der Bach
    • 20. Des Baches Wiegenlied
  • Franz Schubert, Schwanengesang, D. 957
    • 1. Liebesbotschaft
    • 5. Aufenthalt
    • 14. Die Taubenpost


  • Directed by:
    • Wolf Seesemann
  • Venue: Musikfest Stuttgart (Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Production date: 2008
  • Recording date: 2008
  • Duration: 1 h 17 min
  • Production: © Kultur Medien Konzepte / Medici Arts
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like