The Calidore String Quartet performs Mendelssohn's String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 80

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Calidore String Quartet

Jeffrey Myers — Violinist

Ryan Meehan — Violinist

Jeremy Berry — Violist

Estelle Choi — Cellist

Program notes

Composed just months before his death in 1847, Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in F Minor would become the last work he would complete. It is also an homage to his sister Fanny, who died the same year. The sublime piece is an agonized cry of a desperate man who resists the emptiness that will consume him, a “beautiful accident in German music history” (Nietzsche). In this concert the masterpiece receives a captivating performance by the internationally celebrated, New York-based Calidore String Quartet. Following a residency at the University of Stony Brook from 2014 to 2016, its musicians joined the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info