Sergiu Celibidache conducts Brahms – With Daniel Barenboim

Münchner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

In 1991, Daniel Barenboim and Sergiu Celibidache met on the stage of the prestigious Stadthalle Erlangen for a stunning interpretation of Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 1, a remarkable distillation of the ardor of the young Brahms, who began writing the work at just 21 in 1854. Though it met with a mixed reception at the time, surely owing to its complexity and unconventionality, the concerto is now highly esteemed and considered one of the composer's masterpieces.

The extraordinary rapport between Barenboim and Celibidache, two of the most respected artists of all time, results in a singular reading of this masterpiece, fiery and finely wrought. Dedicated to Robert and Clara Schumann, the work is one of the longest piano concertos in the repertoire, a product of many years of reflection and refinement—and one can only imagine that this rendering would have pleased the composer, whose spirit seems to animate every note.

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info