Daniel Barenboim conducts Smetana's Má Vlast

Wiener Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of
Cast Program notes More info


Program notes

Under the baton of the legendary Daniel Barenboim, the Wiener Philharmoniker presents a work rarely performed in concert in its entirety: Má Vlast (My Homeland), Bedřich Smetana's cycle of six symphonic poems.

Composed between 1874 and 1879, Smetana's symphonic fresco is inspired by the same patriotic sentiments he expressed in his first operas. He depicts countrysides (The Moldau, From Bohemia's woods and fields), as well as events,  personalities, and historic sites of his native Bohemia (Vysehrad, Sárka, Tabor, Blaník), which at the time was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.

Founded in 1842, the Wiener Philharmoniker is one of the finest ensembles in the world. It is the only one with a democratic self-administration and many of the musicians play in the orchestra for the duration of their career.

Don't miss this beautiful musical moment with the mythic Wiener Philharmoniker conducted by Daniel Barenboim. The concert is available for two days only!


Photo: Daniel Barenboim © Peter Adamik


More info