Aziz Shokhakimov conducts Prokofiev and Shostakovich — With Simone Lamsma

Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Simone Lamsma — Violinist

Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra — Orchestra

Aziz Shokhakimov — Conductor

Program notes

The dynamic Aziz Shokhakimov and virtuoso violinist Simone Lamsma join forces in an exceptional program, live from the Palais de la musique et des congrès in Strasbourg! Known for her expansive repertoire and versatility, Lamsma demonstrates her great virtuosity alongside the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra under Shokhakimov, the orchestra’s musical and artistic director since September 2021. 

The concert opens with Prokofiev’s First (and most popular) Symphony in D, nicknamed “Classical” for its numerous stylistic references to Mozart, a repertoire staple since its 1918 premiere. Next up is Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor. A victim of censorship, the composer drew inspiration from adversity for this concerto, whose grave lyricism marks it as one of the most poignant works of his repertoire. The concert concludes with two of Prokofiev’s orchestral suites from his ballet Romeo and Juliet, transporting us into the world of Shakespearean drama with highly expressive rhythms that evoke the Bard’s timeless power…

Photo © Otto van den Toorn

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info