Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts Sibelius and Schumann

Chamber orchestra of Europe

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Vladimir Ashkenazy performs the suite composed in 1911 by Jean Sibelius, Rakastava (The Lover), inspired by texts from the Finnish Romantic period.

The second part of the programme presents Schumann's Symphony No. 2 in C Major premiered in 1846 by Mendelssohn. This work then became Tchaikovsky and Brahms' favourite.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info