Martha Argerich and Yuri Temirkanov perform Ravel's Piano Concerto in G Major

2009 Nobel Prize Concert

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Every year, some of the world's finest musicians come to Stockholm to pay tribute to the most recent Nobel Prize winners. A highlight was the 2009 concert, when Martha Argerich performed Ravel's Piano Concerto in G major with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Yuri Temirkanov.

Ravel's Piano Concerto is one of Argerich's favorite works, and she performs it with her trademark enthusiasm and energy. The concert also included Prokofiev's two Romeo and Juliet orchestral suites. The original work, a ballet based Shakespeare's play of the same name was judged by its dancers to be impossible to perform because of its rhythmic challenges. As a result, Prokofiev decided to rework the three acts, transforming them into two orchestral suites of seven movements, works that maintain the original ballet's dramatic character.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info