Franz Welser-Möst conducts Loggins-Hull, Barber, and Prokofiev — With Alisa Weilerstein

With The Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Music Center

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

As a teenager, the great Alisa Weilerstein made her orchestral debut with The Cleveland Orchestra. It is a music lover's dream to see her return to Severance Music Center alongside "America's finest" orchestra (The New York Times) to perform one of the unsung heroes of the repertoire, Samuel Barber's Cello Concerto, a quintessentially American masterpiece written by the composer during World War II and known for its lyricism and grandeur. The exceptional ensemble, led by their renowned music director Franz Welser-Möst, also perform the world premiere of Can You See? by Allison Loggins-Hull, flutist and composer-in-residence at The Cleveland Orchestra, and finish the festivities with the 1947 revision of Sergei Prokofiev's Fourth Symphony, initially banned in the Soviet Union, and reworked so substantially from its original 1930 version that Prokofiev gave it a new opus number.

Photo: Alisa Weilerstein © Decca / Paul Stewart

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info