Garden by Medhi Walerski, music by Saint-Saëns

Nederlands Dans Theater

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Medhi Walerski — Choreographer, costume designer

Pierre Pontvianne — Dramaturgy, Sound Designer

Theun Mosk — Set designer, lighting designer

Joke Visser — Costumes

Chloé Albaret — Dancer

Olivier Coeffard — Dancer

Anne Jung — Dancer

Rupert Tookey — Dancer

Yukino Takaura — Dancer

Chuck Jones — Dancer

Sarah Reynolds — Dancer

Marne van Opstal — Dancer

Katarina van den Wouwer — Dancer

Jon Bond — Dancer

Program notes

Saint-Saëns's Piano Quintet in A Minor inspired this breathtakingly original piece by French choreographer Medhi Walerski—a former dancer for the Paris Opera Ballet—who enlisted ten talented dancers from the prestigious Nederlands Dans Theater to participate in the dramatic project. Theun Mosk's astute lighting design accentuates the dramatic arc of the music, changing the atmosphere onstage in the blink of an eye; the light-colored body suits designed by Walerski and Joke Visser and worn by each dancer, set against a minimalist backdrop, allow each dancing body to blend seamlessly into the ensemble, putting visual emphasis squarely on line, form, and movement—a pure expression of dance.

This is just one of many beautiful ballets available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!


A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info