Logo Rolex

Long-Thibaud-Crespin International Competition (About the competition)

With the support of

About the competition

The acclaimed pianist Martha Argerich takes on the role of artistic director and jury president for the 2019 International Long-Thibaud-Crespin Competition for piano! This year, 45 young pianists compete for the first prize. Martha Argerich leads a jury of leading musical artists and personalities, including pianists Bertrand Chamayou, Kirill Gerstein, and Marc-André Hamelin. Don’t miss the competition's exciting final two rounds, taking place from November 13th to 16th at the Radio France Auditorium in Paris, streamed live on medici.tv!

One of the oldest and most prestigious competitions in classical music, the biennial International Long-Thibaud-Crespin Competition has launched the careers of generations of young artists since its 1943 founding by French virtuosos pianist Marguerite Long and violinist Jacques Thibaud. The competition has evolved over the years, expanding to include voice alongside violin and piano (and honoring that change with the inclusion of the great French singer Regine Crespin in its name) and becoming a biennial competition in the 1980s.