Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.


Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice

Hartmut Haenchen, Harry Kupfer – With Jochen Kowalski (Orfeo) and Gillian Webster (Euridice) – Covent Garden

Gluck's Orfeo ed Euridice Hartmut Haenchen, Harry Kupfer – With Jochen Kowalski (Orfeo) and Gillian Webster (Euridice) – Covent Garden


Gluck's masterwork Orfeo ed Euridice, in an outstanding production by Harry Kupfer, sung in Italian.

Euridice is dead. Her husband Orfeo is overwhelmed with grief and is longing for death. But Love intervenes and tells Orfeo that he can bring back his wife from the underworld, on the condition that he does not turn back to see her on the their way back to the living world. Orfeo takes on the quest. Begging before the chorus of the Furies, Orfeo is eventually admitted into the underworld and meets his wife. But on their journey back, Euridice is worried by her husband's indifference: "Beloved husband, will you leave me thus? I am consumed with grief; will you not console me?" Willing to comfort his wife, Orfeo turns back. Euridice expires in her husband's arms.

Read more


  • Harry Kupfer | Stage director
  • Willibald Kammer | Lighting
  • Hans Schavernoch | Set designer
  • Eleonore Kleiber | Costumes
  • Jochen Kowalski | Orfeo
  • Gillian Webster | Euridice
  • Jeremy Budd | Amor
  • Jean-Pierre Blanchard | Orfeo double
  • William Edwards | Amor Double
  • Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
  • Hartmut Haenchen | Music director
  • Royal Opera Chorus
  • Robin Stapleton | Chorus director


  • Christoph Willibald Gluck, Orfeo ed Euridice
    • I: Overture
    • I, 1: "Ah! se intorno" (Orfeo, Chorus)
    • I, 1: Recitativo "Basta, basta, o compagni" (Orfeo)
    • I, 1: Ballet
    • I, 1: "Ah! se intorno a quest'urna funesta" (Chorus)
    • I, 1: Aria "Chiamo il mio ben cosi" (Orfeo)
    • I, 1: Recitativo "Numi! barbari Numi!" (Orfeo)
    • I, 2: Recitativo "T 'assiste Amore" (Amore, Orfeo)
    • I, 2: Aria "Gli squardi trattiene" (Amore)
    • I, 2: Recitativo "Che disse! Che ascoltai" (Orfeo)
    • II, 1: Ballet - Maestoso
    • II, 1: "Chi mai dell'Erebo" (Chorus)
    • II, 1: "Deh placatevi con me" (Orfeo, Chorus)
    • II, 2: Aria "Che puro del!" (Orfeo, Chorus)
    • II, 2: "Vieni a' regni dell riposo" (Chorus)
    • II, 2: Ballet
    • III, 1: Recitativo "Vieni, sequi i miei passi" (Orfeo, Euridice)
    • III, 1: Duo "Vieni : appaga il tuo consorte" (Orfeo, Euridice)
    • III, 1: Recitativo "Qual vita è questa mai" (Eurydice)
    • III, 1: Arioso "Che fiero momento" (Euridice)
    • III, 1: Recitativo "Ecco un nuovo tormento"(Orfeo, Euridice)
    • III, 1: Aria "Che farò senza Euridice" (Orfeo)
    • III, 2: "Ma! finisca e per sempre" (Orfeo, Amore)
    • III, 2: "Trionfi Amore!" (Orfeo, Euridice, Amore, Chorus)


  • Directed by:
    • Hans Hulscher
  • Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (London, Great Britain)
  • Production date: 1991
  • Duration: 1 h 22 min
  • Production: © RM Arts & Royal Opera House
  • Available version(s): EN
Want to watch the full video?

Appears in

You might also like