Master class

Master Class with Gyorgy Pauk (II/IV)

Ysaÿe’s Sonata for Solo Violin No. 6 in E Major

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes More info


Gyorgy Pauk — Teacher, violinist

Elena Kawazu — Violinist

Program notes

Gyorgy Pauk gives a master class on Ysaÿe’s Solo Sonata No. 6.

Ysaÿe's Sonata No. 6 in E Major was dedicated to Spanish violinist Manuel Quiroga, the first violinist since Sarasate in 1861 to win a Premier Prix from the Paris Conservatoire (in 1911). His recordings demonstrate a sweet, clean tone, and faultless technique, all of which are required in spades in a violinist is to perform this sonata. Inspired by Spanish dances like the habanera and tango, the sonata is notable for its rich texture, chromaticism and stepwise passages. It is a one-movement work, but nonetheless includes such varied expressive indications as "dolce", "grazioso", "lusingando", "commodo", "calando," and "teneramente".

More info