Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.


Frederic Chopin and George Sand

Chamber Music Collection

Frederic Chopin and George Sand Chamber Music Collection


A journey through the life of Frédéric Chopin.

Freely inspired by the life of the great Polish composer Frédéric Chopin, and more specifically by his romantic liaison with the celebrated French novelist George Sand, this film is structured around two mature works by the musician and writer: Sonata for Piano and Cello by Chopin and Story of My Life by George Sand.

The composer's music is brought to life on screen through a choreographic staging where actors and dancers, who are seen alternately by themselves or in the company of musicians, attempt to recreate, within a symbolic decor, the universe inhabited by the two lovers.


  • Darren Bonin | Chopin
  • Parise Mongrain | George
  • Yves St-Pierre | Liszt
  • Anne Plamondon | Solange
  • Alejandro Alvarez | Alexandre
  • Elizabeth Dolin | Cello
  • Carmen Picard | Pianist
  • Gabriela Montero | Pianist
  • Hélène Blackburn | Choreographer
  • Louise Despatie | Costumes


  • Production date: 2001
  • Duration: 52 min
  • Production: © Ciné Qua Non Films
  • Available version(s): EN
Want to watch the full video?

You might also like