Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

documentary Portrait of Edvard Grieg What Price Immortality?

What Price Immortality?

Portrait of Edvard Grieg What Price Immortality?


Discover this wonderful biopic about one of the leading composer of the Romantic movement.

Thomas Olofsson’s 1999 biopic of the composer Edvard Grieg, entitled What Price Immortality?, was greeted with great interest and international acclaim. The film, which was written by Olofsson himself, along with Ture Rangström und Johanna Olofsson, attempts to give a picture of Edvard Grieg, both as a man and a composer, a figure who still receives less attention outside Scandinavia than he deserves. The pianist Staffan Scheja plays the role of Edvard Grieg as both performer and composer, playing works such as the piano ballad in G minor, op. 24. The internationally renowned Auryn Quartet plays the initial String Quartet in G minor, op. 27.


  • Staffan Scheja | Edvard Grieg
  • Philip Brammer | Edvard Grieg
  • Claudia Zöhrer | Nina Hagerup
  • Sabine Oberhorner | Leis Schjelderup
  • Michael Baral | Rikard Nordraak
  • Lasse Kolsrud | John Grieg
  • Haakon Rasmos Rasmussen | John Grieg
  • Kai Ole Taule | Frants Beyer
  • Hanne Fjerdingstad | Marie Beyer
  • Tor Blaha | Edvard's Father
  • Berit Slettermark | Edvard's Mother
  • Stig Vaular | Nina's Father
  • Torill Alraek | Nina's Mother
  • Emanuel Dyrr | Franz Liszt
  • Peter Linke | Peter Tchaikovsky
  • Joachim Meier | Johannes Brahms
  • Günther Morbitzer | Adolph Brodsky
  • The Auryn Quartet


  • Directed by:
    • Thomas Olofsson
  • Production date: 1999
  • Duration: 1 h 10 min
  • Production: © RM Arts
  • Available version(s): EN, FR
  • Available subtitle(s) : ES
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

You might also like