Valery Gergiev conducts Strauss and Stravinsky — With Kristóf Baráti

Chamber Orchestra of the Münchner Philharmoniker, Mariinsky Stradivarius Ensemble

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Kristóf Baráti — Violinist

Lorenz Nasturica-Herschcowici — First violin

Chamber orchestra of the Münchner Philharmoniker

Mariinsky Stradivarius Ensemble

Valery Gergiev — Conductor

Program notes

This evening features celebrated masterpieces for string orchestra by Strauss and Stravinsky! After their brilliant collaboration at the 2017 MPHIL 360°, Lorenz Nasturica-Herschcowici, Valery Gergiev, the Chamber Orchestra of the Münchner Philharmoniker, and the Mariinsky Stradivarius Ensemble are reunited on the festival's stage for another great performance, with Hungarian violinist Kristóf Baráti joining them as soloist.

Valery Gergiev conducts Strauss' Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings, a contrapuntal masterpiece composed in the closing months of the Second World War that meditates on pain and transformation. From the same time period comes Stravinsky's Concerto in D for string orchestra, commissioned in 1946 by Paul Sacher for the 20th anniversary of the Basel Chamber Orchestra. The neoclassical elements of the Concerto in D's second movement introduce well the evening's final work, Stravinsky's neoclassical Violin Concerto in D Major. Kristóf Baráti takes the stage to perform a piece originally written for Polish violinist Samuel Dushkin, with whom Stravinsky closely collaborated over the course of the concerto's composition.

A closer look: composers and works

More info