Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Valery Gergiev conducts Brahms and Szymanowski London Symphony Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra

Valery Gergiev conducts Brahms and Szymanowski London Symphony Orchestra


Valery Gergiev and the London Symphony Orchestra meet for a Romantic and post-Romantic concert where the symphony is king: experience a stunning performance of two “Seconds”: that of the legendary Johannes Brahms and of Karol Szymanowski, one of the most important Polish musicians in music history aside from Chopin who became known outside of his homeland after the Berlin and Vienna premieres of his Second Symphony, composed in 1910. 

Read more


  • Johannes Brahms, Tragic Overture, Op. 81
    • 1. Allegro ma non troppo
    • 2. Molto più moderato
    • 3. Tempo primo ma tranquillo
  • Karol Szymanowski, Symphony No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19
    • 1. Allegro moderato — Grazioso
    • 2. Tema — Variazioni — Fuga
  • Johannes Brahms, Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73
    • 1. Allegro non troppo
    • 2. Adagio non troppo
    • 3. Allegretto grazioso (Quasi andantino)
    • 4. Allegro con spirito


  • Directed by:
    • Olivier Simonnet
  • Venue: Barbican Centre (London, Great Britain)
  • Production date: 2012
  • Duration: 1 h 33 min
  • Production: Les films Jack Fébus - New Morning Vision - Mezzo
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like