Stanislav Kochanovsky conducts Rachmaninov and Elgar — With Lucas Debargue

Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Lucas Debargue — Pianist

Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Stanislav Kochanovsky — Conductor

Program notes

The prodigious Lucas Debargue is back on, joined by the esteemed Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra! From the storied Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, the ensemble accompanies Debargue under Stanislav Kochanovsky's expert direction in two pillars of the repertoire: Rachmaninov's poignant Piano Concerto No. 4—lesser known than Nos. 2 and 3, but no less memorable—and Elgar's Enigma Variations.

The theme and fourteen variations, dedicated to Elgar's loved ones, plays on rhythms and instrument choices to paint a portrait or evoke an anecdote, some cheerful and light-hearted, others melancholy and moving—perhaps none more powerfully than Variation IX, "Nimrod," an eternally soul-stirring testament to friendship and perseverence. The final variation, a grand self-portrait of the composer, closes the program on a beautifully introspective note.

Photo: Stanislav Kochanovsky © Evgeny Evtyukhov, Lucas Debargue © Felix Broede.

Lucas Debargue appears courtesy of Sony Classical.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info