Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Sophie de Bardonnèche and Justin Taylor in a "Rendez-vous Baroque" Concert behind closed doors

Concert behind closed doors

Sophie de Bardonnèche and Justin Taylor in a "Rendez-vous Baroque" Concert behind closed doors


Violinist Sophie de Bardonnèche and keyboardist Justin Taylor perform a closed-door concert full of Baroque-era gems, offering a rich selection that shows the vast evolution in styles and instruments during this period, at the Fondation Singer-Polignac. The program begins with the exquisite melodic lines of François Francoeur’s Sonata No. 2 in E Minor, followed by Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre’s Sonata in D Minor. One of the first women composers of her time, Jacquet de La Guerre's finely wrought music prefigured the unification of the French and Italian styles. Taylor's harpsichord then gives way to the fortepiano, and the dynamite duo round out the evening with Mozart's Six Variations on the plaintive melody “Hélas, j’ai perdu mon amant."

Sophie de Bardonnèche and Justin Taylor are Artists in Residence at the Fondation Singer-Polignac with their ensemble Le Consort.

Associated event


  • Sophie de Bardonnèche | Violinist
  • Justin Taylor | Harpsichordist, Fortepianist


  • François Francœur, Sonata No. 2 in E Minor, Book 1 (Paris, 1720)
    • 1. Adagio
    • 2. Allemande. Andante
    • 3. Sarabande
    • 4. Rondeau
    • 5. Presto
  • Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre, Sonata No. 1 in D Minor (Paris, 1707)
    • [Adagio]
    • Presto
    • Adagio
    • Presto — Adagio
    • Aria
    • Presto
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, First book of harpsichord pieces
    • Allemande I
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau, Gavotte et six double from the Suite No. 4 in A Minor, RCT 5
    • Gavotte
    • Pr. Double de la Gavotte
    • 2me Double
    • 3me Double
    • 4me Double
    • 5me Double
    • 6me Double
  • Jacques Duphly, Pieces for harpsichord with violin accompaniment, Sonata No. 1
    • Aria gratioso
  • Antoine Albanèse, Romance 'au bord d’une fontaine, hélas j’ai perdu mon amant' (second book of songs with accompaniment of violin and continuo)
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Six Variations on "Hélas, j'ai perdu mon amant", K.360/374b


  • Directed by:
    • Guillaume Klein
  • Venue: Fondation Singer-Polignac (Paris, France)
  • Production date: 2020
  • Duration: 1 h 02 min
  • Production: © medici.tv, Fondation Singer-Polignac & Kalison
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like