Sol Gabetta plays Elgar's Cello Concerto

With Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Program notes

Although Elgar wrote almost nothing during the First World War, in 1919 he composed his last great work, the Cello Concerto in E Minor. Initially unpopular with audiences, it ultimately become one of his greatest hits as well as a pinnacle of the cello repertoire. In this performance, the acclaimed Sol Gabetta performs the work, making her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle. The program is rounded off with Ligeti’s Atmospheres, the Act I Prelude to Wagner’s Lohengrin, and Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring.

Appears in

More info

Venue: Festspielhaus Baden-Baden (Baden-Baden, Germany)
Production date: 2014
Duration: 1 h 28 min
Production: © EuroArts, SWR
Resolution: Full HD