Sergey Smbatyan conducts Wagner and Shor — With Alexander Kniazev and Mikhail Pletnev

InClassica International Music Festival 2021

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Alexander Kniazev — Cellist

Mikhail Pletnev — Pianist

Russian National Orchestra

Sergey Smbatyan — Conductor

Program notes

Join the talented Sergey Smbatyan live in Dubai for one of the final concerts of the 2021 InClassica Festival! Under his baton, the Russian National Orchestra interprets works by Wagner and Shor in the company of two great soloists: cellist Alexander Kniazev and pianist Mikhail Pletnev.

The evening begins with Wagner's mythical symphonic poem Siegfried-Idyll, a gift to the composer's wife Cosima after the birth of their son Siegfried, after which the evening continues with performances of two works by the festival’s Composer-in-Residence, Alexey Shor. 

Alexander Kniazev closes the first half of the evening with a performance of the composer’s Cello Concerto No. 2, a work that was in fact first premiered in June of this year with the same orchestra and conductor. Finally, superstar pianist Mikhail Pletnev makes his entrance to tackle From My Bookshelf, a suite of eight piano pieces that serve as a tribute to various notable literary characters, and specially edited by the pianist himself.

Photo: Russian National Orchestra © Sergei Demidov

With the support of the European Foundation for Support of Culture

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info