Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Riccardo Chailly conducts Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky Lucerne Festival Orchestra

Lucerne Festival Orchestra

Riccardo Chailly conducts Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky Lucerne Festival Orchestra


Mendelssohn's A Midsummer Night's Dream Concert Overture and Tchaikovsky's Manfred Symphony are both rooted in great literary legends. Inspired by Lord Byron's lyric poem, Tchaikovsky's Symphony is somber, icy, and tragic, following the course of Byron's anti-hero: racked by guilt after killing his love, Manfred wanders the Alps until he gives himself up to death. Mendelssohn's Midsummer Night's Dream appears all the more luminous in contrast, as light and mischievous as the playful fairies of Shakespeare's comedy. This program features Riccardo Chailly at the head the Lucerne Festival Orchestra for his second consecutive year.

Photo: Riccardo Chailly © Luca Piva


  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Incidental music, Op. 61
    • Overture (1943)
    • 1. Scherzo
    • 5. Intermezzo. Allegro appassionato
    • 7. Notturno. Andante tranquillo
    • 9. Hochszeitmarsch (Wedding March)
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Manfred Symphony in B Minor, Op. 58
    • 1. Lento lugubre – Moderato con moto – Andante
    • 2. Vivace con spirito
    • 3. Andante con moto
    • 4. Allegro con fuoco


  • Venue: KKL - Lucerne Festival Hall (Lucerne, Switzerland)
  • Production date: 2017
  • Recording date: 2017
  • Duration: 1 h 39 min
  • Production: A Production of Accentus Music
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

You might also like