Seven-Part Bach Cycle (V/VII) – With Raphaël Pichon, Ensemble Pygmalion, Maïlys de Villoutreys, Tomáš Král...

Part V: The Depths

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Maïlys de Villoutreys — Soprano
William Shelton — Alto
Tomáš Král — Baritone
Ensemble Pygmalion
Raphaël Pichon — Director

Program notes

In 2017, Raphaël Pichon and his ensemble Pygmalion present Bach in Seven Parts, an unprecedented cycle of cantatas by the beloved Cantor of Leipzig in concert. "The Depths," the fifth installment of the series, features soloists: Kateryna Kasper, William Shelton, Reinoud Van Mechelen, and Tomáš Král.

While Bach's cantatas may be grounded in particular religious practices of 18th century Lutheran Germany, today the works are considered a vital part of our global musical heritage, treasured beyond the bounds of any particular culture or religion. The cycle Bach in Seven Parts presents selected cantatas in seven concerts, with each concert featuring one universal theme that sheds new light on Bach's music.

Based in a humanist perspective, our approach does not erase the religious subject of these cantatas, but emphasizes above all Johann Sebastian Bach's message of humanity, hope, and light. – Raphaël Pichon

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Colin Laurent
Venue: Philharmonie de Paris (Paris, France)
Production date: 2018
Duration: 1 h 36 min
Production: Camera Lucida
Available subtitle(s): Fr
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Thursday, May 11, 2028