Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available, this is an excerpt.


Portrait of Love: Anna Stephany and Gábor Takács-Nagy perform Webern, Brahms, Dvořák and Tchaikovsky

Portrait of Love: Anna Stephany and Gábor Takács-Nagy perform Webern, Brahms, Dvořák and Tchaikovsky


After Giovanni Sollima and Rebecca Bottone, a third concert live from the RNCM Concert Hall this season on medici.tv!

The Anglo-French mezzo-soprano Anna Stephany is invited by Manchester Camerata to perform, along with the ensemble's music director Gábor Takács-Nagy a portrait of works by composers struck by the love bug. The muse for Webern's uncharacteristically lush early Slow Movement was Wilhelmine Mörtl, his future wife. Brahms' Liebeslieder Waltzes explore love in all its shapes and forms. Dvorak's Love Songs, in an arrangement here by David Matthews, are all settings of romantic poems by Gustav Pfleger-Moravsky. Souvenir de Florence by Tchaikovsky, king of melodies, was dedicated to his mystery patron, Nadezhda von Meck, whom he never actually met.

This concert will also be streamed to the following venues: Gala Theatre, Durham (Live on 28 April), The Maltings, Berwick (Nearcast on 29 April) and Alnwick Playhouse, Northumberland (Nearcast on 28 May)


  • Anton Webern, Slow Movement (Langsamer Satz)
  • Johannes Brahms / Bernard Herrmann, Liebeslieder. Waltzes, Op. 52
  • Antonín Dvořák, Love Songs (Písne milostné), Op. 83
    • 1. "O, nasí lásce nekvete" ("Oh, our love does not bloom")
    • 2. "V tak mnohém srdci mrtvo jest" ("Death dwells in so many a heart")
    • 3. "Kol domu se ted' potácím" ("Now I stumble past the house")
    • 4. "Já vím, ze v sladké nadeji" ("I know that in sweet hope")
    • 5. "Nad krajem vévodí lehky spánek" ("Gentle slumber reigns over the countryside")
    • 6. "Zde v lese u potoka já stojím sám a sám" ("Here in the forest by a brook")
    • 7. "V té sladké moci ocí tvych" ("In the sweet power of your eyes")
    • 8. "O, duse drahá, jedinká" ("Oh, dear matchless soul")
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, String sextet in D Minor, Op. 70, "Souvenir de Florence"
    • 1. Allegro con spirito
    • 2. Adagio cantabile e con moto
    • 3. Allegretto moderato
    • 4. Allegro con brio e vivace
  • Edward Elgar, Seven Lieder
    • 5. "Through the Long Days"


  • Venue: RNCM Concert Hall (Manchester, Great Britain)
  • Broadcast date: April 28, 2012, 8:30 p.m.
  • Production date: 2012


You might also like