Logo Rolex
Rolex and Culture
Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

concert Piotr Anderszewski plays Schumann, Bach, and Szymanowski Piano recital

Piano recital

Piotr Anderszewski plays Schumann, Bach, and Szymanowski Piano recital


Bruno Monsaigneon’s camera captures the brilliant Piotr Anderszewski in an introspective recital of works for solo piano by Schumann, Bach, and Szymanowski. Opening and closing the program are two works by Robert Schumann with strongly contrasting characters. The first is his rarely performed Grande Humoresque, one of the composer's very few pieces that have a humorous character; the second, Songs of the Dawn, was written composed during his later years when he was already suffering from a mental disorder, and belongs to an abstract and poetic world. The pieces frame a selection of typical contrapuntal Partitas by Bach. The final selection is Polish composer Karol Szymanowski’s Masques, which explores the tales of three fictional characters: Sheherezade, Tristán, and Don Juan.



  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita No. 2 in C Minor, BWV 826
    • I. Sinfonia
    • II. Allemande
    • III. Courante
    • IV. Sarabande
    • V. Rondeau
    • VI. Capriccio
  • Karol Szymanowski, Masques, Op. 34
    • I. Schéhérazade
    • II. Tantris le bouffon
    • III. Sérénade de Don Juan
  • Robert Schumann, Humoresque in B-flat major, Op. 20
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita No. 1 in B flat Major, BWV 825
    • Prelude
    • Allemande
    • Courante
    • Sarabande
    • Menuet I & 2
    • Gigue
  • Robert Schumann, Gesänge der Frühe (Songs of Dawn), Op. 133


  • Directed by:
  • Venue: Warsaw Philharmonic Hall (Warsaw, Poland)
  • Production date: 2007
  • Duration: 1 h 07 min
  • Production: © Idéale Audience, Arte France
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

You might also like