Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.


Paavo Järvi conducts Dvořák and Beethoven – With Rudolf Buchbinder

Orchestre de Paris

Paavo Järvi conducts Dvořák and Beethoven – With Rudolf Buchbinder Orchestre de Paris


The Orchestre de Paris under the baton of music director Paavo Järvi performs Dvořák and Beethoven.

This concert's programme is made up of two works by Antonín Dvořák: Symphonic Variations and the Eighth Symphony, composed ten years later in 1889-1890. The Symphony No. 8, graceful, joyful and brillant, but always epic or lyric, is often performed or recorded next to the Czech composer's Symphonic Variation, maybe because the two scores are very similarly constructed with themes and variations.

Between the two works, Rudolf Buchbinder plays the Beethoven Third Piano concerto. Renowned for his affinity with the classic repertoire (he has dedicated many records to the works of Haydn, Beethoven or Mozart), the Austrian pianist rises as a star next to Paavo Järvi with whom he has alread regularly performed.

This concert was broadcast live on medici.tv on the 19th of September, 2012.

This webcast was supported by Natixis, patron of the Orchestre de Paris.



  • Antonín Dvořák, Symphonic variations, Op. 78
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37
    • I. Allegro con brio
    • II. Largo
    • III. Rondo : Allegro
  • Johann Strauss II / Alfred Grünfeld, Soirée de Vienne Op 56
  • Antonín Dvořák, Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88
    • 1. Allegro con brio
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Allegretto grazioso
    • 4. Finale : Allegro ma non troppo


  • Directed by:
    • Jean-Pierre Loisil
  • Venue: Salle Pleyel (Paris, France)
  • Production date: 2012
  • Recording date: 19 Sept. 2012
  • Duration: 1 h 50 min
  • Production: © LGM Télévisions – Orchestre de Paris – medici.tv – Lyon Capitale TV – Unitel
  • Available version(s): EN
Want to watch the full video?

Appears in

You might also like