Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Nikolai Lugansky plays Janáček, Prokofiev, and Liszt Verbier Festival 2008

Verbier Festival 2008

Nikolai Lugansky plays Janáček, Prokofiev, and Liszt Verbier Festival 2008


Nikolaï Lugansky gives an inspired and animated recital of works for solo piano by Janáček, Prokofiev, and Liszt.

In this Verbier Festival recital, pianist Nikolai Lugansky shows the extent of his talents from the first note he plays. His expressive yet controlled sound, impeccable technique, and subtle musicality lend themselves well to the opening work, Janáček’s Sonata in E-flat Major, a sonata typical of the elusive and poetic music of that composer. Lugansky then passes from Janáček’s enigmatic impressionism to the relentless energy of Sergei Prokofiev. Lugansky’s cool fingers hurl the Montagues and the Capulets into an unending battle through his striking interpretation of excerpts from Prokofiev’s Ten Pieces for Piano from Romeo and Juliet, Op. 75.

The works by Liszt saved for the end of his recital spirit us away from the dark iciness of Prokofiev to a world focused on the beauty of nature, earthly spirituality, and metaphysical meditations. With Lugansky’s transparent playing, we listen to The Fountains of the Villa d'Este splash, hear the enchanting poetry of Petrarch’s Sonnets, and drift off into the mystical contemplations of the Douze études d'exécution transcendante.

Associated event



  • Leoš Janáček, Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, "1.X.1905"
    • Foreboding
    • Death
  • Sergei Prokofiev, Ten Pieces for Piano from "Romeo and Juliet", Op. 75
    • 5. Masks. Andante marciale
    • 6. Montagues and Capulets. Allegro pesante
    • 7. Father Lorenzo. Andante espressivo
    • 8. Mercutio. Allegro giocoso
    • 9. Lily Dance of the Maidens. Andante con eleganza
    • 10. Romeo and Juliet before Parting. Lento
  • Franz Liszt, Années de pèlerinage, Troisième année, S. 163
    • The Fountains of the Villa d'Este
  • Franz Liszt, Années de pèlerinage, Deuxième année : Italie, S. 161
    • 6. Sonetto 123 del Petrarca
  • Franz Liszt, Transcendental Études, S. 139
    • 12. Chasse-neige: Andante con moto
    • 10. Allegro agitato molto


  • Directed by:
    • Louise Narboni
  • Venue: Verbier Festival (Verbier, Switzerland)
  • Production date: 2008
  • Recording date: 2008
  • Duration: 56 min
  • Production: © Idéale Audience
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like