Mstislav Rostropovich and Sviatoslav Richter play Prokofiev and Beethoven

Orchestre de Monte-Carlo, Okko Kamu

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Orchestre National de l'Opéra de Monte-Carlo

Okko Kamu — Conductor

Mstislav Rostropovich — Cellist

Sviatoslav Richter — Pianist

Program notes

Richter and Rostropovich, the meeting of two legends around Beethoven and Prokofiev.

Beethoven first: on August 30th 1964, at the Edinburgh Festival, Mstislav Rostropovich and Sviatoslav Richter played the complete Sonatas for Cello and Piano by Beethoven for the one and only time in concert . The cameras of the BBC that were there allow us to hear these two legends in the Fourth Sonata Opus 102 No. 1, a bold work typical of the last period of Beethoven's life. A version which is hard to surpass. To measure the importance of the event, one must refer to the stature of the musicians on stage who dominate the whole history of 20th century music.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info