Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim play piano duets

Mozart, Schubert, and Stravinsky

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Martha Argerich — Pianist
Daniel Barenboim — Pianist

Program notes

Two of the greatest living solo pianists share one stage for a truly extraordinary evening of piano duos like you’ve never before heard them! Both from Buenos Aires, both child prodigies who went on to establish long and universally-acclaimed careers, both humanitarians, and both avid chamber musicians, Argerich and Barenboim’s many affinities translate into a captivating musical rapport. They begin with Mozart’s Sonata in D Major for two pianos, a work he composed for a performance he would give with fellow Austrian pianist and composer Josepha Auernhammer. Among the finest works he ever wrote and a classic of the duet literature, Schubert’s Variations on an original theme in A-flat Major follows. The exciting finish comes with their performance of the two-piano version of Stravinsky’s unforgettable The Rite of Spring.    

Appears in

More info

Venue: Berlin Philharmonie (Berlin, Germany)
Production date: 2014
Duration: 1 h 22 min
Production: © EuroArts, rbb
Resolution: Full HD