Marko Letonja conducts Rachmaninov and Shostakovich — With Simon Trpčeski

Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes More info


Program notes

Two premieres on!

In his premiere, acclaimed conductor Marko Letonja leads a spectacular Russian-themed evening in Strasbourg, France! Under Maestro Letonja's baton, the Strasbourg Philharmonic shines in a program that includes two masterpieces of the Russian repertoire: Rachmaninov's sublime and widely beloved Piano Concerto No. 2 in a fiery performance by the acclaimed Simon Trpčeski, followed by Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony.

First performed on November 5, 1945, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9 reflects the composer's sense of long-awaited relief at the end of the Second World War. Lilting harmonies and sparkling melodic lines present a marked contrast with the composer's two previous symphonies, heroic and grandiose—a difference amplified by the work's subtle orchestration, less monumental (but no less affecting) than Symphonies No. 7 and 8.

Photo: Marko Letonja, Simon Trpčeski © Benjamin Ealovega

More info

Directed by:
Marc Pasteau
Venue: Palais de la musique et des congrès (Strasbourg, France)
Production date: 2021
Duration: 1 h 9 min
Production: © Orchestre philharmonique de Strasbourg &
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Sunday, June 28, 2026