Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Lucas Debargue in recital Philharmonie de Paris

Philharmonie de Paris

Lucas Debargue in recital Philharmonie de Paris


Sit back and marvel at the talent of young French piano virtuoso Lucas Debargue at the Philharmonie de Paris in a carefully chosen solo recital! Debargue's program leads us from Bach to Scriabin, beginning with the perennially delightful, celebrated Italian Concerto by J.S. Bach and ending with Scriabin's moody and magnificent Fantasie in B Minor. On the way, he passes by Schumann's Sonata No. 3 in F Minor (sometimes called a "concerto without orchestra" for its scope and power) and two pieces by Fauré, a composer of whose work Debargue may the be the most thoughtful interpreter of our day.

Although Debargue's playing would be exceptional on any instrument, this recital has the added bonus of bringing you a glimpse of an extraordinary and unusual piano, the Opus 102 by Stephen Paulello. This marvel boasts 102 keys, 14 more than a traditional piano, giving it a truly singular harmonic palette and what Debargue calls an "infinite" dynamic range—in his words, it is a piano that "will never be out of fashion… it will naturally make its way among the legendary instruments and inspire many generations of musicians and music lovers."

Photo: Lucas Debargue © Xiomara Bender

Lucas Debargue apperas courtesy of Sony Classical.

Click here to discover Lucas Debargue's album "Zal - The Music of Miłosz Magin".

Associated event



  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Italian Concerto in F Major, BWV 971
    • 1. (without tempo indication)
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Allegro vivace
  • Robert Schumann, Sonata for Piano No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 14
    • 1. Allegro brillante
    • 2. Scherzo. Molto commodo
    • 3. Quasi variazioni. Andantino
    • 4. Prestissimo possible
  • Gabriel Fauré, Barcarolle No. 3 in G-flat Major, Op. 42
  • Alexander Scriabin, Piano Sonata No. 4 in F-sharp Major, Op. 30
    • 1. Andante
    • 2. Prestissimo volando
  • Gabriel Fauré, Ballade in F sharp major, Op. 19
  • Alexander Scriabin, Fantasie in B minor, Op. 28
  • Gabriel Fauré, Prélude in g minor
  • Miłosz Magin, Sonatina for piano
    • 2. Andantino
    • 3. Presto ma non troppo
  • Lucas Debargue, Scherzo


  • Directed by:
    • Jean-Pierre Loisil
  • Venue: Grande Salle Pierre Boulez, Philharmonie de Paris (Paris, France)
  • Broadcast date: Jan. 15, 2022, 8:30 p.m.
  • Production date: 2022
  • Replay available until: April 15, 2022
  • Production: © medici.tv
Why stop there? The rest of this incredible video is available for free for our guests!

Appears in

You might also like