Les Arts Florissants perform Monteverdi: Madrigals, Book I

The complete Monteverdi madrigals – Paul Agnew, conductor

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
This concert is presented by
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Les Arts Florissants

Paul Agnew — Conductor, tenor

Miriam Allan — Soprano

Hannah Morrison — Soprano

Marie Gautrot — Contralto

Sean Clayton — Tenor

Lisandro Abadie — Bass

Program notes

The Arts Florissants begin to perform Monteverdi's complete madrigals at the Cité de la Musique: the First Book in this concert.

Written in 1587, Monteverdi's First Madrigals Book is dedicated to the count Marco Verità, poet and patron of the arts in Verona. Monteverdi was nineteen years old then, and might have wanted to work for him; his dedication offers the count a set of "young compositions," compared with "spring flowers."

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Saturday, April 1, 2023