Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Polina Leschenko play Webern, Schumann, Bartók, and Ravel

Chamber music

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
This concert is presented by
Cast Program notes Composers & works More info


Patricia Kopatchinskaja — Violinist

Polina Leschenko — Pianist

Program notes

Join Patricia Kopatchinskaja and her duo partner, Polina Leschenko, for an evening of colourful and entrancing music for violin and piano in London’s Wigmore Hall! The concert features Webern’s Four Pieces, Op. 7, Schumann’s D minor Violin Sonata, Bartók’s Violin Sonata No. 2 and Ravel’s Tzigane.

Acclaimed violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja is known for her diverse repertoire choices, ranging from baroque and classical to new commissions and re-interpretations of modern masterworks. In the company of pianist Polina Leschenko, Kopatchinskaja begins her Wigmore Hall residency with a programme of strikingly contrasting styles, technical challenges and musical rewards.

The recital opens with Webern’s Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 7, a set of miniatures steeped in vibrant colours and textures, followed by Schumann’s songful D minor Violin Sonata. Bartók’s contemplative Violin Sonata No. 2 and Ravel’s rhapsodic Tzigane, charged with exotic virtuosity, complete this programme.

Photo: Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Polina Leschenko © Marco Borggreve 2015

A closer look: composers and works

More info