Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Klaus Tennstedt conducts Mahler and Mozart Boston Symphony Orchestra, 1977

Boston Symphony Orchestra, 1977

Klaus Tennstedt conducts Mahler and Mozart Boston Symphony Orchestra, 1977


Klaus Tennstedt, the Boston Symphony Orchestra and two masterpieces of the Austro-German symphonic tradition. Somehow one barely dares to hope this programme might equal, never mind exceed, the sum of its inspiring parts. Happily, this concert is indeed a delight from start to finish. The BSO had been playing Mozart's "Haffner" Symphony regularly since 1885, with Tennstedt following in the footsteps of such august colleagues as Georges Enescu, Leonard Bergstein and Pierre Monteux. Mahler's Symphony No.4 was a different story, its first full performances in Boston coming only in March 1945.

Read more



  • Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 4 in G Major
    • 1. Bedächtig. Nicht eilen
    • 2. In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
    • 3. Ruhevoll, poco adagio
    • 4. Finale: Presto
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K. 385 "Haffner"
    • 1. Allegro con spirito
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Ruhevoll, poco adagio
    • 4. Sehr behaglich


  • Directed by:
    • Russ Fortier
    • David Atwood
  • Venue: Boston Symphony Hall (Boston, USA)
  • Production date: 2012
  • Recording date: 15/01/1977
  • Duration: 1 h 17 min
  • Production: © Boston Symphony Orchestra & WGBH Educational Foundation under exclusive licence to International Classical Artists Ltd
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like