Klaus Mäkelä conducts Ravel, Liszt, and Sibelius — With Yuja Wang

Verbier Festival 2022

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The inimitable, awe-inspiring Yuja Wang returns to the Verbier Festival’s Salle des Combins with the Verbier Festival Orchestra—conducted by Klaus Mäkelä—in an extraordinary program featuring Ravel, Liszt, and Sibelius!

The concert begins with Ravel’s suite for solo piano, Le Tombeau de Couperin, composed between 1914 and 1917. Structured in six movements, the composition imitates a traditional Baroque dance suite, but also represents a moving homage to the victims of World War I—each movement is dedicated to the memory of a loved one killed in battle. Liszt’s singular Piano Concerto No. 1 follows, described by Bartók as “the first perfect realization of cyclic sonata form, with common themes being treated on the variation principle”. The concerto was completed in 1849 and premiered in 1855 in Weimar by the composer himself, under the baton of Hector Berlioz. Sibelius’s Symphony No. 3 brings the evening to a perfect end—“classical” in character and structurally simple, yet striking and boldly expressive.


Photo: Yuja Wang © Kirk Edwards

Klaus Mäkelä appears courtesy of Decca Classics.
Yuja Wang appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

This program is just one of the thousands available no, the web’s leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info