Herbert von Karajan conducts Beethoven's Symphony No. 9

Berliner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Lella Cuberli — Soprano

Helga Müller-Molinari — Alto

Vinson Cole — Tenor

Franz Grundheber — Baritone

Wiener Singverein

Helmut Froschauer — Chorus director

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert von Karajan — Conductor

Program notes

Official anthem of the European Union since 1985, the final movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 (nicknamed the “Ode to Joy”) has become a symbol of peace and brotherhood. Although the Viennese public failed to appreciate a number of the composer’s later works, the premiere of the Ninth Symphony proved to be an incredible triumph for the ailing Beethoven—suffering by that time from total deafness, but nonetheless well enough to be present in the hall to enjoy his creation’s success. Experience the beloved masterwork in this powerful performance by Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker!

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info