Herbert von Karajan and Anne-Sophie Mutter perform Beethoven's Violin Concerto

Berliner Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Premiered in 1806, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D Major paved the way for three great violin concertos of the 19th and 20th centuries: Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and Sibelius. Extremely expressive and astonishing in it emotional scope, the work nonetheless received an ambivalent response at its premiere. Renowned for his knowledge of Beethoven’s oeuvre, the conductor Herbert von Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker are joined by the virtuoso violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter for a masterful performance.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info