Iván Fischer conducts Enescu, Stravinsky, and Prokofiev — With Vilde Frang

Budapest Festival Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Vilde Frang — Violinist
Budapest Festival Orchestra
Iván Fischer — Conductor

Program notes

Live from the Müpa Budapest, the incredible Iván Fischer joins forces once again with the famed Budapest Festival Orchestra, an ensemble he co-founded in 1983 that has flourished under his leadership into one of the world's preeminent orchestras. They begin the evening with George Enescu’s Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major, the composer's best-known work, lively and brimming with traditional Romanian rhythms. Virtuoso violinist Vilde Frang then makes her entrance to perform Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto, a work that notably inspired two ballets by the great George Balanchine. The concert ends in fireworks with Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony, one of the composer’s wartime masterpieces, written in just a month in 1944 and intended to represent "a hymn to free and happy Man, to his mighty powers, his pure and noble spirit."

Vilde Frang appears courtesy of Warner Classics.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Isabelle Soulard
Venue: Béla Bartók National Concert Hall (Müpa, Budapest, Hungary)
Production date: 2020
Duration: 1 h 24 min
Production: © Idéale Audience
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Thursday, November 20, 2025