Gianandrea Noseda conducts Brahms and Price — With Hilary Hahn

National Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works More info


Program notes

Vibrant violinist Hilary Hahn welcomes you to an exceptional concert in the company of Maestro Gianandrea Noseda, at the helm of the National Symphony Orchestra, broadcast live on from Washington, DC’s Kennedy Center. First on the program is Brahms’s flamboyant Violin Concerto, one of the most challenging works in the instrument’s repertoire, of which the virtuoso delivers a stunning interpretation. The orchestra then moves to a rarely performed gem: Florence Price’s Symphony No. 3.

A pianist, organist, pedagogue and composer, Price is the first African American woman to have her works performed by major symphonic ensembles. In 1938, her Third Symphony in C Minor was commissioned by the Federal Music Project. Both grandiose and lyrical, the work is masterfully infused with jazzy intonationst, while decidedly remaining within the realm of classical music. Look out for its third movement, a superb allegro that pays tribute to the lively Juba dance.

Symphony No. 3 in C Minor
Florence B Price
© G. Schirmer Inc.
Courtesy of Première Music Group

A closer look: composers and works

More info

Available until

Sunday, October 1, 2023