Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Sir Georg Solti conducts Wagner, Strauss and Beethoven 1964-1986


Sir Georg Solti conducts Wagner, Strauss and Beethoven 1964-1986


During the autumn of 1958, Solti conducted the Wiener Philharmoniker for a the first ever complete recording of Das Rheingold (Decca Records). It was acclaimed worldwide, and even made the Billboard Top Ten best-selling albums for a short period in the USA. It is with Wagner that Solti established himself as a recording conductor in Europe and America.

Read more


  • Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
  • BBC Symphony Orchestra
  • Sir Georg Solti | Conductor
  • John Culshaw | Interviewer


  • Richard Wagner, The Flying Dutchman, WWV 63
    • Overture
  • Richard Strauss, Don Juan, Op. 20
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
    • 1. Allegro con brio
    • 2. Andante con moto
    • 3. Scherzo. Allegro
    • 4. Allegro


  • Venue: Royal Albert Hall (London, Great Britain)
  • Production date: 2011
  • Recording date: 1964, 1967, 1986
  • Duration: 1 h 34 min
  • Production: © BBC Worldwide Limited, under licence to International Classical Artists Ltd
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like