Fabien Gabel conducts Beethoven and Dubugnon — With Valeriy Sokolov

Orchestre symphonique de Québec

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
An event presented by


Valeriy Sokolov — Violinist

Nick Mahon — Trombonist

Vladislav Kalinichenko — Trombonist

Nate Fanning — Trombonist

Scott Robinson — Bass trombonist

Orchestre symphonique de Québec

Fabien Gabel — Conductor

Program notes

Fiery violinist and student of Rostropovich Valeriy Sokolov performs Beethoven’s one and only violin concerto, an incredible work whose expressive power remains unequaled to this day. Preceding Sokolov’s virtuosic performance, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec and maestro Fabien Gabel present Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony—an ample demonstration of the composer’s incredible musical imagination, followed by his 3 Equali, a series of sonorous musical gems for four trombone soloists originally intended as cathedral tower music to be performed on All Souls’ Day. Contemporary composer Richard Dubugnon's Caprice IV "Es muss sein!" ("It must be!"), which draws its name from a phrase Beethoven wrote into the manuscript of his sixteenth string quartet, rounds out this Beethoven-themed program with a North American premiere.

Photo: Valeriy Sokolov © Valeriy Sokolov

A closer look: composers and works

More info