David Oistrakh performs Bach and Mozart

With Igor Oistrakh, Yehudi Menuhin, and Sir Colin Davis

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes More info


David Oistrakh — Violinist, violist
Igor Oistrakh — Violinist
English Chamber Orchestra
Sir Colin Davis — Conductor
Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
Yehudi Menuhin — Conductor, violinist

Program notes

“Paganini of the East”, “Tsar of Violinists”, “King David”... David Oistrakh went be many names, but no matter the moniker, his incredible artistry never failed to capture the hearts and minds of his listeners. In this archival footage from concerts in 1961 and 1963 at London's Royal Festival Hall and Royal Albert Hall respectively, Oistrakh performs Bach’s effervescent Violin Concerto in A Minor and Mozart’s peerless Symphonie Concertante for Violin and Viola in E-flat Major. The 1961 performance features Sir Colin Davis at the head of the English Chamber Orchestra, while the 1963 performance was presented by the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of a young Yehudi Menuhin. In the Symphonie Concertante, Oistrakh takes on the viola part, leaving the violin part to his son Igor.

More info

Directed by:
Philippe Truffault
Venue: Royal Festival Hall (London, Great Britain) Royal Albert Hall (London, Great Britain)
Production date: 2001
Duration: 52 min
Production: © Idéale Audience, img Artists BBC
Resolution: SD