Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Charles Munch conducts Beethoven Symphonies No. 4 and 5, Prometheus (1959-1961)

Symphonies No. 4 and 5, Prometheus (1959-1961)

Charles Munch conducts Beethoven Symphonies No. 4 and 5, Prometheus (1959-1961)


This film features some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and their Music Director, Charles Munch.

While the material has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques, certain visual artefacts and distortions remain in some instances due to the age of the film. Despite this, it remains of exceptional musical interest and historic value.

This performance of extracts from The Creatures of Prometheus is a rare one, Munch having only conducted the ballet at the BSO in one season. He breathes life into his performances of Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5, which are executed with excitement, exuberance and panache.


  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus, Op. 43
    • Ouverture: Adagio – Allegro molto con brio
    • 5. Adagio – Andante quasi allegretto
    • 16. Finale: Allegretto – Allegro molto
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60
    • 1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Allegro vivace – Trio
    • 4. Allegro ma non troppo
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67
    • 1. Allegro con brio
    • 2. Andante con moto
    • 3. Scherzo. Allegro
    • 4. Allegro


  • Venue: Sanders Theatre, Harvard University (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA)
  • Production date: 2011
  • Recording date: 08/03/1960, 18/04/1961, 03/11/1959
  • Duration: 1 h 22 min
  • Production: © Boston Symphony Orchestra & WGBH Educational Foundation
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like