Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

concert Benjamin Britten conducts Mozart, Britten and Mendelssohn English Chamber Orchestra. 1964-1970.

English Chamber Orchestra. 1964-1970.

Benjamin Britten conducts Mozart, Britten and Mendelssohn English Chamber Orchestra. 1964-1970.


The two concerts on this programme, separated by a little over five years, present two very different Benjamin Brittens. The first, at Croydon in December 1964, shows Britten at the peak of his powers. He is fifty-one years old, lean and fit, energised and beady-eyed, his hair dark and close-cropped. He has upgraded his father's tailcoat, which did him proud in the 1930s and 1940s, and offsets it with patent-leather shoes. He is the recent composer of War Requiem, a piece of international celebrity, and will soon be appointed to the Order of Merit. He will travel to India a few weeks after the concert, part of an unconvincing sabbatical year.

Read more


  • English Chamber Orchestra
  • Peter Pears | Tenor


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550
    • 1. Allegro molto
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Menuetto : Allegretto – Trio
    • 4. Allegro assai
  • Benjamin Britten, Nocturne for tenor, seven obbligato instruments and Strings, Op. 60
    • "On a poet's lips I slept" (Shelley)
    • "Below the thunders of the upper deep" (Tennyson)
    • "Encinctured with a twine of leaves" (Coleridge)
    • "Midnight's bell goes ting, ting, ting, ting, ting" (Middleton)
    • "But that night when on my bed I lay" (Wordsworth)
    • "She sleeps on soft, last breaths" (Owen)
    • "What is more gentle than a wind in summer" (Keats)
    • "When most I wink, then do my eyes best see" (Shakespeare)
  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 56, "Scottish"
    • 3. Adagio
    • 2. Vivace non troppo


  • Directed by:
    • Antony Craxton
    • Brian Large
  • Venue: Fairfield Hall (Croydon, London, Great Britain)
  • Production date: 2012
  • Recording date: 20 December 1964 - 5 June 1970
  • Duration: 1 h 07 min
  • Production: ©BBC, under licence to International Classical Artists Ltd. Licensed courtesy of BBC Worldwide.
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like