Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert The Amadeus Quartet performs Haydn and Mozart Recorded in 1980-1983

Recorded in 1980-1983

The Amadeus Quartet performs Haydn and Mozart Recorded in 1980-1983


For four decades, 1947-87, the Amadeus Quartet dominated the chamber music scene in Britain, gradually spreading its fame to all corners of the earth. It was an astonidhing achievement, especially considering that the ensemble's personnel did not change – when violonist Peter Shidlof died suddenly in the late summer of 1987, the others immediately disbanded the group rather than replace him with anyone else. Only the Beethoven Quartet of Moscow, which went forty-one years (1923-64) with the same players, has matched this record.

Read more


  • Amadeus Quartet
  • Norbert Brainin | Violinist
  • Siegmund Nissel | Violinist
  • Peter Schidlof | Violist
  • Martin Lovett | Cellist


  • Joseph Haydn, String Quartet No. 62 in C Major, Op. 76 No. 3, "Emperor"
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Poco adagio, cantabile
    • 3. Menuetto: Allegro
    • 4. Finale: Presto
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quartet No. 19 in C Major, K. 465, "Dissonance"
    • 1. Adagio – Allegro
    • 2. Andante cantabile
    • 3. Menuetto: Allegro
    • 4. Allegro molto


  • Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (London, Great Britain)
  • Production date: 2012
  • Recording date: 1981 & 1983
  • Duration: 50 min
  • Production: ℗ BBC, under licence to International Classical Artists Ltd – © International Classical Artists Ltd
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like