Alisa Weilerstein and Jonathan Gilad play Beethoven and Chopin – Yuja Wang plays Ligeti and Rachmaninov

Verbier Festival 2008

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Alisa Weilerstein — Cellist
Jonathan Gilad — Pianist
Yuja Wang — Pianist

Program notes

The 2008 Verbier Festival offered a special treat of a chamber music recital, pairing Romantic works for cello and piano with virtuosic solo works for piano. Acclaimed American cellist Alisa Weilerstein and pianist Jonathan Gilad take the stage first, performing impassioned interpretations of Beethoven’s Fifth Cello Sonata and Chopin’s G Minor Sonata. Superstar Chinese pianist Yuja Wang then presents Ligeti’s Fanfares and Der Zauberlehrling with her signature fiery flare, followed by Rachmaninov’s piano transcription of Mendelssohn’s Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Myriam Hoyer
Production date: 2008
Duration: 58 min
Production: © Idéale Audience
Resolution: Full HD