Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

concert Albrecht Mayer plays Bach Portrait of the German oboist

Portrait of the German oboist

Albrecht Mayer plays Bach Portrait of the German oboist


A portrait of one of the world's leading oboists, Albrecht Mayer – with numerous concert footages!

Albrecht Mayer is assuredly one of the most sought-after musician on the contemporary musical scene. Yet, his instrument is not the piano, the violin nor even the flute which are all well-established instruments in the public's heart. The oboe however, this mellow instrument which evokes pastoral atmospheres, is an instrument for which Johann Sebastian Bach composed some of the most beautiful melodic lines. Since the 1990's, when Albrecht Mayer embarked on his professional career with a first appointment at the Bamberger Symphoniker, and later on as solo oboist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, he has succeeded in giving to his instrument a greater recognition. Keen as well to explore the intimate world of chamber music, Albrecht Mayer has performed with such partners as Thomas Quasthoff, Matthias Goerne and Leif Ove Andsnes, on the top of his activities as permanent member of the Sabine Meyer Wind Ensemble.

This portrait of the oboist includes various performances of works by Bach, including the Sinfonia from the cantata "I am standing with one foot in the grave" BWV 156, performed under Gustavo Dudamel's baton. All the concert footages are moments of sheer music thanks to Albrecht Mayer's miraculous sound and vrtuosity. As some have put it up, in Albrecht Mayer's hands, a oboe turns into "an instrument of seduction."



  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Italian Concerto in F Major, BWV 971
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Concerto for Oboe d'Amore, BWV 1055
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Easter Oratorio, BWV 249
    • Adagio
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, St. Matthew's Passion, BWV 244
    • Aria (Alto) "Erbarme dich"
  • Jean Françaix, L'Horloge de Flore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Cantata "I am standing with one foot in the grave", BWV 156
    • Sinfonia


  • Directed by:
    • Christian Kurt Weisz
  • Production date: 2006
  • Duration: 1 h 00 min
  • Production: © BR/BFMI
  • Available subtitle(s) : EN, FR
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like