Certain chapters are not available. Thank you for your understanding.

This live webcast is no longer available, this is an excerpt.


Akiko Suwanai, Nicholas Angelich : Mozart, Brahms and Beethoven sonatas

Auditorium du Louvre

Akiko Suwanai, Nicholas Angelich : Mozart, Brahms and Beethoven sonatas Auditorium du Louvre


Mozart – Sonata for violin and piano in B flat Major K 454

Composed in 1784 for the virtuoso violinist Regina Strinasacchi at a prolific time during which Mozart encountered his greatest Viennese successes with his piano concertos, this sonata was also a contemporary work to the great Quintet for piano and wind instruments K 452 with which it has many resemblances, especially in the majestically slow introduction to the first movement. Putting the violin in the foreground more than in any other of the sonatas Mozart composed for this formation the work, alternating between tender and mischievous or cheerful and sombre passages, is written in the grand symphonic style like the Kreutzer Sonata by Beethoven twenty years later. A very rare occurrence, having undoubtedly lavished too much attention on the violin part, Mozart was unable to finish writing the piano part in time for the premier. He was therefore obliged to perform it from memory before a blank sheet of music, before conscientiously writing it down after the concert.

Read more


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Sonata for Violin and Piano in B flat Major, K. 454
    • 1. Largo. Allegro
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Rondo. Allegretto
  • Johannes Brahms, Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in A Major, Op. 100
    • 1. Allegro amabile
    • 2. Andante tranquillo
    • 3. Allegretto grazioso
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Violin Sonata No. 9 in A Major, Op. 47, "Kreutzer Sonata"
    • 1. Adagio sostenuto – Presto
    • 2. Andante con variazioni
    • 3. Presto


  • Venue: Louvre Auditorium (Paris, France)
  • Broadcast date: Sept. 16, 2009, 8 p.m.
  • Production date: 2009
  • Duration: 1 h 39 min

Associated event


You might also like