Three ballets by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, music by Bartók, Beethoven, and Schoenberg

String Quartet No. 4, Die Grosse Fuge, and Verklärte Nacht

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker — Choreographer
String Quartet No. 4:
Sae Eun Park — Dancer
Juliette Hilaire — Dancer
Charlotte Ranson — Dancer
Laura Bachman — Dancer
Die Grosse Fuge:
Alice Renavand — Principal dancer
Stéphane Bullion — Principal dancer
Karl Paquette — Principal dancer
Vincent Chaillet — Premier danseur
Florian Magnenet — Premier danseur
Nicolas Paul — Dancer
Adrien Couvez — Dancer
Alexandre Gasse — Dancer

Program notes

An unusual triptych that coalesces into something truly breathtaking, this triple choreography by the great Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker represents a decade of her creation (1986-1995) with audacious and indelible settings of well-known works: Bartók’s String Quartet No. 4, Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, and Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night). De Keersmaeker’s choreographies, in intimate dialogue with the music, evoke all the nuances of passion: need, defiance, and escalating stakes. Principals, firsts, and the splendid corps de ballet of the prestigious Paris Opera lend their considerable talents to the realization of the great artist’s vision in Paris’s legendary Palais Garnier.

One of Belgium’s most celebrated artists, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker founded the ensemble Rosas, which was the ballet in residence at Brussels’s La Monnaie for fifteen years. During that time, they garnered significant critical and popular acclaim, and De Keersmaeker’s contributions to the ballet world earned her the title of baroness by King Albert II of Belgium.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Louise Narboni
Venue: Palais Garnier (Paris, France)
Production date: 2015
Duration: 1 h 33 min
Production: © Opéra national de Paris - ARTE France - Idéale Audience
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Sunday, June 30, 2024